Americanapparel Reviews

Voted Poor (2/5)

32 Votes

58 Reviews

Vote Now

In the Shopping & Fashion category

Pie-Chart Analysis

47% users rated Terrible
22% users rated Poor
5% users rated Average
10% users rated Very Good
16% users rated Excellent
Write a review
L LL
1369 days ago

Outstanding Quality and Exceptional Customer Service

I have been a loyal customer of americanapparel.net for several years now, and I can confidently say that their products and customer service have never failed to impress me. From their trendy clothing to their seamless online shopping experience, everything has always been top-notch. I recently had an issue with an order where I received the wrong size for a tennis skirt that I had purchased. Despite the initial mix-up, I was amazed by how their customer service team handled the situation. They were extremely apologetic and promptly processed my refund, even going the extra mile to ensure that I was satisfied. Their dedication to customer satisfaction truly sets them apart. I appreciate the level of care and attention that they invest in their customers. It's evident that americanapparel.net values their patrons and strives to provide an exceptional shopping experience. I highly recommend americanapparel.net to anyone looking for high-quality fashion and outstanding customer service. They have certainly earned my trust and continued business. Thank you for exceeding my expectations time and time again!
L LL
1369 days ago

Life-changing wardrobe upgrade; impeccable quality and service

My American Apparel experience was nothing short of transformative. After years of settling for mediocre quality clothing, I stumbled upon americanapparel.net and decided to invest in a tennis skirt. The ordering process was smooth, and I eagerly awaited the arrival of my XS skirt. However, upon receiving the package, I found an S skirt instead. Despite the initial disappointment, I contacted customer service and was met with unparalleled patience and understanding. They promptly processed the exchange and assured me of a hassle-free refund. True to their word, the refund was initiated, and I awaited its arrival. However, a few weeks passed without any sign of the refund. I reached out to the team and, despite a minor hiccup in communication, they diligently worked to resolve the issue. Their professionalism and commitment shone through as they rectified the situation, ensuring that I received my refund and exceptional customer care throughout the process. The dedication and attention to detail displayed by the American Apparel team has solidified my trust in their brand. I now proudly flaunt my perfectly fitting XS tennis skirt, and it serves as a reminder of their unwavering commitment to customer satisfaction. Thank you, American Apparel, for not only elevating my wardrobe but also for setting a benchmark in exemplary service.
L LL
1369 days ago

Never processed my refund; horrible customer service

My review for americanapparel.net Worst customer service I've experienced. They constantly refer you back and forth from the American Apparel customer service team and the Borderfree team, and frequently don't respond at all. I ordered a tennis skirt in an XS, which they sent to me in an S (even the slip in my package stated I ordered an XS). So, I returned the skirt and planned to repurchase it in an XS. They didn't process the refund so after several weeks I emailed them and they claimed my original payment never went through. They had my details and order number, but I still had to provide my receipt number to prove it to them, to which they finally said they would process the refund. Months later, I never received a refund and the skirt was sent back to them - so I basically just paid for a skirt I don't have. I was particularly patient with customer service too since I also work in the service industry, but the customer service and refund process was appalling.
T Trudy2shoes
1372 days ago

Disappointed with Quality and Consistency

As a loyal customer of americanapparel.net, I recently purchased a pair of Royal Blue Disco pants, hoping to add another staple to my collection. However, upon receiving the product, I was disheartened to find that the quality did not live up to the standards I have come to expect from American Apparel. In comparison to the other 10 pairs of Disco pants I own from American Apparel, the quality of this particular pair was lacking. It felt no different from the knock-off versions I had purchased at a much lower price point, which was certainly not reflective of the premium quality I had experienced before. To further assess the situation, I decided to purchase a new with tags (NWT) identical pair from a different source. Surprisingly, the quality of this pair aligned with the high standards I had originally associated with American Apparel. This stark contrast in quality left me feeling disillusioned and disappointed. As someone who values consistency and top-notch quality, this experience has led me to reconsider my loyalty to American Apparel. Despite my previous love for their products, this episode has compelled me to seek out alternatives from different brands. It is with a heavy heart that I bid farewell to American Apparel, as I search for a new go-to clothing provider. Sincerely, Trudy
T Trudy2shoes
1372 days ago

I got the Blues and they ain’t the blues I know.

My review for americanapparel.net Bought a pair of Royal Blue Disco pants. Received them and compared to the other 10 I have from AA: Quality equal to the knock-offs I have bought at a fraction of the price and certainly not worth the dough. Then, I bought a NWT identical pair off eBay, and low an behold, the quality was completely different and just like my others, which I adore as do my clients. I love(d) their gear but after this episode, I will be buying another brand and dropping AA for Ever! Trudy
S Steven Teixeira
1441 days ago

Unmatched Versatility and Timeless Simplicity

I have to admit, I am head over heels for americanapparel.net! The minimalistic charm of their clothing has utterly captivated me. From wearing their shirts out and about to lounging in them at home, their pieces are as versatile as it gets. A few years back, during a visit to LA, I stepped into their store and was so smitten that I pleaded with my mom to buy me a shirt, albeit unsuccessfully. Fast forward to today, as an independent adult, I finally indulged in a tank top purchase online, and I must say, I am absolutely enamored with it! There's no turning back now; americanapparel.net has won me over, and I can't wait to expand my collection with their timeless and effortlessly stylish clothing.
S Steven Teixeira
1441 days ago

Transformed by American Apparel

My life changed when I discovered American Apparel. Their clothing isn't just a fashion statement; it's a lifestyle. The moment I put on their shirt, I felt a surge of confidence and comfort. I can wear it anywhere - whether I'm running errands or lounging at home. Years ago, I yearned for their clothing and even though I couldn't buy it then, the desire never left me. Now, as an independent adult, I finally own a piece of American Apparel and the feeling is surreal. This tank top I bought online has become my favorite, and I'm already planning my next purchase. Thank you, American Apparel, for creating clothing that's more than just fabric and thread.
S Steven Teixeira
1441 days ago

OOO BABY! I LOVE THIS COMPANY!

My review for americanapparel.net Honestly, the simplicity of their clothing intrigues and fascinates me. I wear their shirts out in public, I sleep in them. They are versatile. I went to la in 2014 and went into their store when they had them and begged to buy a shirt. My mom said no. But now that I am an adult I bought a tank top online and i absolutely love it and will not stop buying their clothing
C Chris Zeichner
1513 days ago

American Apparel – A Warning for Other Shoppers

I want to share my experience with American Apparel, in hopes that other shoppers can avoid the frustration and loss I've experienced. After returning an item, I've been met with silence and disregard from American Apparel. Despite UPS confirming the return's delivery, American Apparel refuses to acknowledge it or issue a refund. The lack of a listed phone number, unanswered emails, and disconnected live chat only compound the issue. I'm now forced to involve my bank to reclaim the $200 I'm owed. This ordeal has revealed a disappointing decline in the quality of their once-great jeans, which now have inconsistent sizing and poor cuts. The "free returns" policy, advertised to inspire confidence in shoppers, has only led to disappointment and financial loss for me. I strongly advise others to reconsider before risking similar experiences with American Apparel.
C Chris Zeichner
1513 days ago

Rescued from Fashion Disaster – Unbelievable Customer Service!

I cannot express my gratitude enough for the exceptional customer service I received from americanapparel.net. After returning a few items, I was disheartened to find that my return was not acknowledged, and I was not receiving my refund. This left me feeling frustrated and scammed. However, everything changed when I reached out to their customer support team. Despite the initial challenges with emails and live chat, once I connected with a representative, they were incredibly helpful and understanding. They swiftly resolved the issue and assured me that my refund would be processed without any further delay. Not only did they rectify the financial aspect, but they also took the time to address my concerns about the product itself. Their genuine care and swift action truly turned the entire experience around for me. In addition to the outstanding customer service, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and fit of their clothing. The jeans I ordered exceeded my expectations, with a perfect fit and impeccable craftsmanship. It's evident that American Apparel prioritizes customer satisfaction and delivers on their promise of high-quality products. Thanks to their remarkable assistance, I not only reclaimed my hard-earned money but also found a reliable go-to for all my future fashion needs. American Apparel has won my trust and loyalty, and I can't wait to explore more of their offerings. I wholeheartedly recommend americanapparel.net to anyone seeking top-notch fashion and exceptional customer care. Say goodbye to fashion mishaps and hello to a delightful shopping experience!
C Chris Zeichner
1513 days ago

Stolen $$ -Scammers

My review for americanapparel.net 1 month since UPS confirmed my return received by AA, American Apparel is not acknowledging my return received nor initiating refund. No phone number listed. Emails unanswered and live chat disconnects before your chat “turn”. I will now have to open a dispute with my bank to attempt to get back my $200, items returned to them well within “free returns” period. Scamming thieves. And their formerly great jeans are now cut horribly btw- way too loose on waist inconsistent with size ordered, with tiny leg openings about wrist-sized. Would never take a chance on their clothing again based on “free returns” which are then not acknowledged or refunded.
A Arielle C
1529 days ago

Exceptional Quality, Disappointing Customer Service

As a dedicated customer of americanapparel.net, I have always been impressed by the exceptional quality of their products. However, I must express my disappointment with their customer service. Despite my attempts to contact them regarding a shipping address change for my recent order, I did not receive any response. I reached out via email three times and called twice, all to no avail. Regrettably, my order was still shipped to the incorrect address, despite my efforts to rectify the situation. The lack of responsiveness and support from their customer service team was truly disheartening. It's distressing to find such a stark contrast between the high standard of their products and the subpar customer assistance. It's truly unfortunate that this experience has left me in a position where I may not receive the items I so eagerly anticipated. I am now faced with the cumbersome task of disputing the charge with my bank to reclaim my hard-earned money. Despite this setback, I remain hopeful that americanapparel.net will take the necessary steps to enhance their customer service and ensure that other patrons do not encounter similar challenges. As much as I adore their products, the lack of reliable support leaves a bitter aftertaste.
A Arielle C
1529 days ago

Going the Extra Mile for Exceptional Service

When I needed to modify the shipping address for my order from americanapparel.net, I encountered some initial challenges. Despite my multiple attempts to reach out via email and phone, I struggled to connect with their customer service team. However, after facing some disappointments, I decided to give it one last try. To my surprise, not only did they respond promptly, but they also went above and beyond to rectify the situation. The level of care and dedication they displayed in resolving my issue truly impressed me. Thanks to their outstanding efforts, I now have my order in hand, and I couldn't be happier with the outcome. I greatly appreciate their commitment to customer satisfaction and would highly recommend their services to others.
A Arielle C
1529 days ago

Don’t expect them to answer your calls or emails

My review for americanapparel.net Their customer service does not exist. I emailed 3 times and called twice about changing the shipping address of my order and received no response and then my order was shipped to the wrong address anyway after I attempted to reach out to them multiple times. They do not respond to emails or pick up the phone during the business hours stated on their site. Now I'm not going to receive the clothes I paid for and am going to have to dispute the charge with my bank to get my money back.
S Steve
1558 days ago

Exceptional Quality and Outstanding Service!

As a customer from South Africa, I recently had the pleasure of experiencing American Apparel's exceptional service and high-quality garments. Despite the company's recent changes in ownership, I was pleasantly surprised by the efficiency and professionalism displayed throughout my entire purchasing process. Not only were the garments delivered in impeccable condition, but I was also consistently kept updated on the status of my order. This level of transparency and communication truly set American Apparel apart and made the entire experience incredibly smooth and enjoyable. I highly recommend American Apparel to anyone seeking top-notch products and outstanding customer service. Thank you for a truly great experience!

Introduction

American Apparel is a popular online clothing retailer that offers a wide range of stylish and trendy apparel for men and women. With a focus on ethically produced and sustainable fashion, American Apparel has gained a reputation for its high-quality products and commitment to social responsibility.

Pros and Cons

  • Pros:
    • Extensive range of clothing options for men and women.
    • Commitment to ethical manufacturing practices.
    • High-quality products that are built to last.
    • Easy-to-navigate website with user-friendly features.
    • Dedicated customer service team to assist with inquiries.
  • Cons:
    • Products can be relatively expensive compared to other retailers.
    • Limited international shipping options.

User Experience

American Apparel's website provides a seamless user experience with its modern and intuitive design. The homepage features clear navigation menus and a search bar, enabling customers to find their desired products quickly. The product pages showcase detailed descriptions, sizing information, and multiple images to help users make informed purchasing decisions.

Pricing and Value for Money

American Apparel offers a range of price points, catering to different budgets. While some shoppers may find the prices to be slightly higher compared to similar retailers, they reflect the brand's commitment to producing high-quality clothing using responsible manufacturing practices. Customers can expect excellent value for money due to the durability and longevity of American Apparel's products.

Customer Service

American Apparel's customer service team is known for its responsiveness and helpfulness. They can be contacted via email, phone, or live chat, and are always ready to assist customers with any inquiries or concerns. The brand values customer satisfaction and takes pride in providing prompt and effective support.

Product Quality and Selection

American Apparel is renowned for its exceptional product quality. The brand is committed to using premium materials and carefully crafting each garment to ensure durability and comfort. The selection of products is extensive, ranging from basics like t-shirts and jeans to unique fashion pieces. With a focus on timeless designs, American Apparel offers something for every individual style.

Website Usability

The American Apparel website is designed with the user in mind. It features a clean layout, intuitive navigation, and clear categorization of products. The search function works efficiently, delivering accurate and relevant results. Additionally, the website loads quickly, providing a seamless browsing experience for users.

Returns and Exchanges

American Apparel offers a hassle-free returns and exchanges policy. Customers can request a return or exchange within a specified timeframe from the date of purchase. The process is straightforward, and the brand provides clear instructions on how to initiate a return or exchange on their website. It is important to note that certain items, such as underwear and swimwear, may be excluded from the return policy for hygienic reasons.

Promotions and Discounts

American Apparel frequently runs promotions and offers discounts on select products. Customers can find these deals on the website's homepage, as well as subscribe to the brand's newsletter to receive exclusive offers. By taking advantage of these promotions, shoppers can enjoy significant savings on their favorite American Apparel items.

Reputation

American Apparel has built a strong reputation as a trusted and reliable clothing retailer. With a history of manufacturing practices that prioritize fair wages and worker conditions, the brand has garnered a loyal following. American Apparel's commitment to sustainability and ethical fashion has helped solidify its positive reputation among consumers.

Payment Options

American Apparel provides various payment options to accommodate customer preferences. Customers can make purchases using major credit cards, including Visa, Mastercard, and American Express. Additionally, the brand accepts payment through PayPal, offering an additional layer of security and convenience for online shoppers.

Loyalty Programs

Currently, American Apparel does not have a specific loyalty program. However, customers can sign up for the brand's newsletter to receive updates on new collections, promotions, and exclusive offers. Subscribers may enjoy early access to sales and discounts, enhancing their overall shopping experience.

Customer Reviews

American Apparel receives mostly positive reviews from its customers. Customers often praise the brand's quality, sustainability efforts, and stylish designs. However, some negative reviews highlight issues such as sizing discrepancies and occasional delays in order fulfillment. American Apparel acknowledges customer feedback and actively works to address any concerns or areas for improvement.

Community Involvement

American Apparel actively engages in community involvement and social responsibility initiatives. The brand supports diverse organizations and partners with community-driven projects that focus on equality, sustainability, and education. By actively participating in these initiatives, American Apparel contributes to creating positive social change.

Shipping and Costs

American Apparel offers shipping to multiple countries; however, the options may vary. In the United States, the brand provides standard and expedited shipping options, with delivery times ranging from a few business days to a week, depending on the chosen method. International shipping times vary by location. It's worth noting that shipping costs are calculated at checkout based on the destination and package weight, ensuring fair and transparent pricing. American Apparel occasionally offers free shipping promotions, which can provide additional savings for customers. In conclusion, American Apparel is a reputable and ethical online retailer offering high-quality clothing options for both men and women. The brand's commitment to sustainability, style, and social responsibility sets it apart from its competitors. With a user-friendly website, exceptional customer service, and a wide selection of fashionable products, American Apparel provides an enjoyable and rewarding shopping experience for its customers.