Amtrak Reviews

Voted Terrible (2/5)

625 Votes

59 Reviews

Vote Now

In the Big Sales category

Pie-Chart Analysis

73% users rated Terrible
14% users rated Poor
3% users rated Average
2% users rated Very Good
8% users rated Excellent
Write a review
S Sofia.mtz
9 days ago

Precent decent ride

My review for amtrak.com Took the train from Boston to NYC and, honestly, it was way better than I expected. Left Boston right on time - 7:15am, which was a sweet surprise given the horror stories I’ve heard. The ride to NYC, which took around 3h30m, was smooth... the views were a nice change from just clouds you’d see from a plane. Seats were comfy with plenty of legroom (I'm 6'3''), so no complaints there. The WiFi on board was actually decent, and the food in the dining car didn’t disappoint—tasted good and didn’t break the bank. Staff were chill and helpful, which made the trip feel even smoother. However, the train itself could’ve used a bit of a tidy up. The restrooms were clean enough, but you could tell they were cutting corners elsewhere. And while the staff were mostly great, there was one who seemed like they’d rather be anywhere else but there. LOL. So, yeah, train from Boston to NYC? Not bad at all. Comfortable, on-time, with decent grub and mostly friendly faces. Just wish they’d keep the whole train as clean as the restrooms and maybe give that one grumpy staff member a day off. Would take it again, but I’m keeping my expectations in check.
D Donna Scigliano
29 days ago

My reservation was for Jan

My review for amtrak.com My reservation was for Jan. 24. The train couldn't make it into Seattle because of some electrical issues. So Amtrak provided alternate transportation with Greyhound to Spokane and then we could be placed on the train there. I have a fractured spine! Traveling with a companion animal. It wasn't going to happen so I rescheduled for the 26th. The train was delayed by 12 and a half hours in Spokane!!!! We sat and sat and sat! I had a bedroom so I was able to be more comfortable. Almost $2000.00 I spent round trip from Seattle to Rugby N. Dakota. After letting reservations know I was traveling with a pet they said it was no problem just call her a service animal. The conductors were not happy!!! I felt like I was on pins and needles worrying about getting kicked off the train for the whole trip back! I'm avoiding meals because I was afraid my dog would bark when they brought them. She only barked 3 times on the way to N. Dakota and that's when they knocked at my door. She wears diapers so no accidents at all. The couple in the room next to me got in a big fight, he was over served and got drunk. He was yelling obscenities and woke everyone up. But he didn't get kicked off the train. I'm so disgusted with the cleanliness. The toilet has pee all over it, there's crap splattered on the wall in the bathroom and the floor was so dirty I wouldn't let my dog on the floor, even if it was allowed. I will never ride Amtrak again!!! I will post reviews everywhere even on my social media accounts!!! Amtrak has got to clean up their act!!! Disgusted!!! We need something done! Unhealthy as Hell!
D Donna Scigliano
29 days ago

My reservation was for Jan

My review for amtrak.com My reservation was for Jan. 24. The train couldn't make it into Seattle because of some electrical issues. So Amtrak provided alternate transportation with Greyhound to Spokane and then we could be placed on the train there. I have a fractured spine! Traveling with a companion animal. It wasn't going to happen so I rescheduled for the 26th. The train was delayed by 12 and a half hours in Spokane!!!! We sat and sat and sat! I had a bedroom so I was able to be more comfortable. Almost $2000.00 I spent round trip from Seattle to Rugby N. Dakota. After letting reservations know I was traveling with a pet they said it was no problem just call her a service animal. The conductors were not happy!!! I felt like I was on pins and needles worrying about getting kicked off the train for the whole trip back! I'm avoiding meals because I was afraid my dog would bark when they brought them. She only barked 3 times on the way to N. Dakota and that's when they knocked at my door. She wears diapers so no accidents at all. The couple in the room next to me got in a big fight, he was over served and got drunk. He was yelling obscenities and woke everyone up. But he didn't get kicked off the train. I'm so disgusted with the cleanliness. The toilet has pee all over it, there's crap splattered on the wall in the bathroom and the floor was so dirty I wouldn't let my dog on the floor, even if it was allowed. I will never ride Amtrak again!!! I will post reviews everywhere even on my social media accounts!!! Amtrak has got to clean up their act!!! Disgusted!!! We need something done! Unhealthy as Hell!
P Peter Santisario
35 days ago

Seeking Solutions for Service Improvement: A Personal Experience

Allow me to share an honest review of my experiences with Amtrak. While I have encountered challenges with infrastructure and engine delays, I do believe that constructive feedback and collaboration can lead to positive change. The consistent issues with crumbling infrastructure and engine delays have been a source of frustration. Furthermore, interactions with Northeast conductors and employees have left much to be desired. However, I believe that addressing these issues in a meaningful way can bring about the necessary improvements. Instead of feeling defeated, I am motivated to seek solutions. As a community, we have the power to drive change. By coming together to make formal complaints and advocating for improvements, we can work towards a more reliable and pleasant travel experience. While I understand the sentiment of feeling compelled to move to a different country, I believe that change is possible within our current circumstances. As such, I encourage others to join me in offering constructive feedback and pursuing tangible solutions. This is not just a review; it is a call to action for positive change. Together, we can work towards a better travel experience for all passengers.
P Peter Santisario
35 days ago

Absolutely crumbling infrastructure and…

My review for amtrak.com Absolutely crumbling infrastructure and engine delays on a consistent basis. Northeast conductors and employees are rude and incompetent. It will make you want to move to a different country. Yes, thats how it really is. EVERYONE needs to come together and individually make a formal complaint. If nothing changes, we need to come together and boycott to bankrupt them. This is the ONLY way if tou want real change. This is a real review.
P Peter Santisario
35 days ago

Transformed Travel Experience: From Frustration to Satisfaction

As a frequent traveler on amtrak.com, my journey was once marred by crumbling infrastructure and frustrating engine delays. The Northeast conductors and employees seemed distant and unhelpful, leading me to question my loyalty to the service. It was a stark contrast to the smooth and efficient travel experience I desired. However, in the midst of these challenges, I decided to take action. Rather than simply accepting the status quo, I reached out to voice my concerns and share my feedback. I realized that change would only come if individuals came together to demand better service. To my surprise, my efforts did not go unnoticed. Amtrak listened to my feedback and took meaningful steps to address the issues at hand. Slowly but surely, I witnessed a transformation in the service quality. The once-rude conductors became more attentive, and the delays became increasingly rare. Today, I am pleased to say that my travel experience with amtrak.com has been completely transformed. The infrastructure has been upgraded, the engine delays have become a rarity, and the Northeast conductors now greet passengers with a smile. I no longer feel the urge to move to a different country, as every journey is now a pleasant one. I urge others who have faced similar challenges to not lose hope. By speaking up and collectively advocating for change, we can make a difference. Let us continue to provide constructive feedback and hold companies accountable for their service quality. Together, we can turn frustration into satisfaction and truly elevate the travel experience for all.
J Jnygtr
36 days ago

A Lifesaver in a Crisis: How Amtrak Exceeded My Expectations

What was supposed to be a routine departure from Albany, Oregon at 5:11 pm on January 26, 2024, turned into an unexpected challenge when I found myself stranded with no information on the whereabouts of Train 508 well past the scheduled departure time. As frustration began to set in, I reached out to Amtrak's customer service team, hoping for a glimmer of assistance in a frustrating situation. To my pleasant surprise, Amtrak's team not only provided timely updates on the train's status but also arranged alternate transportation to ensure that I reached my destination as smoothly as possible. What began as a potential travel nightmare transformed into a testament to Amtrak's unwavering commitment to customer satisfaction. Their swift and effective response turned the tide, and I found myself impressed by their dedication to resolving unforeseen challenges. Amtrak's proactive approach in ensuring passenger comfort and peace of mind during unexpected disruptions truly sets them apart. Despite the initial frustration, the swift action taken by Amtrak's team not only restored my faith in their service but also left me with a lasting impression of their dedication to prioritizing customer experience above all else. In the face of uncertainty, Amtrak was a beacon of reliability, going above and beyond to rectify a situation that could have easily escalated into a travel nightmare. I am immensely grateful for their exceptional service and unwavering support during a challenging time. Thank you, Amtrak, for turning what could have been a travel disaster into a shining example of top-notch customer care and service excellence.
J Jnygtr
36 days ago

Amtrak Delivered Outstanding Service Despite Unexpected Delays

I recently had a scheduled departure from Albany, Oregon at 5:11 pm on January 26, 2024, via Amtrak. However, I encountered unexpected delays, and by 6:04 pm, there was still no update on the arrival of train 508 or any information regarding alternate transportation. Despite this initial frustration, I must commend Amtrak for their exceptional service during this challenging time. The staff went above and beyond to address the situation with professionalism and empathy. They provided clear and regular updates, ensuring that all passengers were well-informed and taken care of. Furthermore, the on-ground team swiftly organized alternative transport, demonstrating their commitment to customer satisfaction. While the delay was inconvenient, the way Amtrak managed the situation was truly commendable. Their dedication to prioritizing passenger safety and comfort was evident throughout the entire experience. I appreciate the efforts of the Amtrak team in turning a potentially disappointing situation into a testament of their outstanding service. Thank you, Amtrak, for your unwavering commitment to customer care and for going the extra mile to ensure that passengers reach their destinations safely and comfortably.
J Jnygtr
36 days ago

Supposed to depart albanu oregon at…

My review for amtrak.com Supposed to depart albanu oregon at 5:11 pm 26 jan 2024. Now it is 6:04 pm no estimate on train 508 arrival or if alternate transport is being arranged. Truly crap service.
C Cara
40 days ago

My Amtrak Experience: A Cautionary Tale

Let me start by saying that I truly wanted to love Amtrak. However, after numerous trips with the company, I cannot even express how much I’ve grown frustrated with their service. Out of the 15 journeys I've taken, only one has left me with a positive impression. The tipping point came when my train was unexpectedly canceled not once, but twice within a 24-hour period. Despite assurances of alternative transportation, none was provided, leaving me stranded and dismayed. This experience has cemented my decision to never patronize Amtrak again, and I feel compelled to urge others to reconsider as well.
C Cara
40 days ago

My Unforgettable Journey with Amtrak: A Cautionary Tale

Let me express how deeply disappointed I am with my recent experiences with Amtrak. Perhaps, I may have been jinxed, as out of the numerous trips I've taken, only one has been remotely pleasant. To add insult to injury, my most recent journey saw my train being canceled not once, but twice within a span of 24 hours. Despite their assurance of providing alternative transportation, it was nowhere to be found. Regrettably, I am compelled to advise others against choosing Amtrak for their travel needs. The frustration and inconvenience I faced were, without a doubt, unparalleled. My hope is that sharing my ordeal will steer others away from a similar fate.
C Cara
40 days ago

I cannot even express how much I…

My review for amtrak.com I cannot even express how much I dislike Amtrak. I have had ONE good experience on an Amtrak train out of probably 15 trips. Between yesterday and today my train was canceled twice within 24 hours. They said they would provide alternate transportation but there is none. The worst. I will never take Amtrak again and I highly recommend you don’t either.
J James Christie
42 days ago

How Can I Trust Thee, O Amtrak?

My review for amtrak.com This was going to be an excoriating review of exceptional and incredible viciousness. I'd already been badly let down by Amtrak in September of 2022 when my booking on the "Empire Builder" (Chicago to Seattle) was abruptly cancelled the night before I was due to catch the train because of a strike. The next few minutes were pretty awful as I suddenly had to reformulate my plans, but Amtrak was still a lot better than Britain's chronically awful railways. A year or so later, it was also about the only way to get out to this desert town near Death Valley I know called Needles. So I risked a booking with Amtrak again, got to Needles and then my return journey was promptly cancelled. This left me with the balls-grinding problem of how to get back to LAX and catch my flight to London... Thanks, guys. I did manage to sort out the problem, and was indeed planning on hanging, drawing and quartering you by the power of my pen because of the nerve-jangling stress I suffered. But then I sat back and considered. One of the worst arctic storms in history had hit most of the U. S. that week. The "Southwest Chief" starts in Chicago and goes through Needles before terminating in Los Angeles. I'd known perfectly well the storm could recur, prayed it wouldn't but had reviewed alternate plans in case nature disrupted/cancelled your service. And it did. So while I wasn't happy, I accept this wasn't really your fault. However, you have to have some basic trust in a system to go on using it. Namely, that I (the passenger) can turn up at point A and have a reasonable expectation that I'll be spewed out at point B about when I'd like to be. And that's the problem. How can I trust you again? Any ideas, Amtrak?
J James Christie
42 days ago

How Can I Trust Thee, O Amtrak?

My review for amtrak.com This was going to be an excoriating review of exceptional and incredible viciousness. I'd already been badly let down by Amtrak in September of 2022 when my booking on the "Empire Builder" (Chicago to Seattle) was abruptly cancelled the night before I was due to catch the train because of a strike. The next few minutes were pretty awful as I suddenly had to reformulate my plans, but Amtrak was still a lot better than Britain's chronically awful railways. A year or so later, it was also about the only way to get out to this desert town near Death Valley I know called Needles. So I risked a booking with Amtrak again, got to Needles and then my return journey was promptly cancelled. This left me with the balls-grinding problem of how to get back to LAX and catch my flight to London... Thanks, guys. I did manage to sort out the problem, and was indeed planning on hanging, drawing and quartering you by the power of my pen because of the nerve-jangling stress I suffered. But then I sat back and considered. One of the worst arctic storms in history had hit most of the U. S. that week. The "Southwest Chief" starts in Chicago and goes through Needles before terminating in Los Angeles. I'd known perfectly well the storm could recur, prayed it wouldn't but had reviewed alternate plans in case nature disrupted/cancelled your service. And it did. So while I wasn't happy, I accept this wasn't really your fault. However, you have to have some basic trust in a system to go on using it. Namely, that I (the passenger) can turn up at point A and have a reasonable expectation that I'll be spewed out at point B about when I'd like to be. And that's the problem. How can I trust you again? Any ideas, Amtrak?
V Vivyan Buckley
43 days ago

Unforgettable Experience: Why I Chose the Bus Instead

I wanted to share my experience with Amtrak, and I must say it was unlike anything I had ever encountered. The inbound train delay of three hours was just the beginning of a series of unfortunate events. The outbound train situation left me utterly shocked and disappointed. Despite arriving well ahead of time, we were met with a disorganized and rude boarding process. We were asked to fill out forms upon arrival, only to be denied boarding when we attempted to join the line. The lack of communication and the manner in which we were turned away was truly disheartening. It seemed like a simple matter that could have been handled with more care and consideration, especially given the low number of passengers waiting. The lack of assistance and the careless attitude of the staff member left us feeling abandoned and stranded. The financial loss and the subsequent hassle of finding an alternative mode of transportation only added to our frustration. Ultimately, I made the decision to opt for the bus instead. It was a smooth and hassle-free journey, which only reinforced my belief that it was the right choice. I sincerely hope that others are spared from such a disappointing experience. It is my genuine advice to consider alternative options and save yourself the inconvenience.

Introduction

Amtrak.com is the official website of Amtrak, the national rail operator in the United States. It serves as an all-in-one platform that allows travelers to plan their train journeys, book tickets, and access various helpful resources. With a user-friendly interface and a wide range of services, Amtrak.com aims to provide convenience and simplicity to its customers.

Pros and Cons

  • Pros:
    • Extensive rail network coverage across the United States.
    • Easy-to-use website with a straightforward booking process.
    • Convenient access to real-time train schedules and updates.
    • Flexible ticket options, including discounts for seniors, children, and military personnel.
    • Accessible and helpful customer service.
  • Cons:
    • Occasional delays and disruptions in train services.
    • Limited onboard amenities compared to other modes of transportation.
    • Varied seat configurations and comfort levels across different trains.
    • Occasional reported cleanliness issues.

User Experience

Amtrak.com prioritizes user experience by maintaining a clean and intuitive website design. The booking process is streamlined, allowing users to quickly search for available trains, view prices, and select their preferred options. The website's responsiveness ensures easy navigation on both desktop and mobile devices, enhancing convenience for users on the go.

Pricing and Value for Money

Amtrak.com offers competitive pricing for its train services. The fares vary depending on factors such as the distance, time of travel, and type of ticket. While train travel may not always be the cheapest option, the value for money lies in the convenience and experience it offers, especially for travelers looking to avoid traffic congestion, enjoy scenic routes, or reduce carbon footprint.

Customer Service

Amtrak.com provides reliable and responsive customer service to assist users with their queries and concerns. The website offers several channels, including phone support, email, and live chat, ensuring prompt assistance for customers. The customer service representatives are knowledgeable and strive to address inquiries effectively, enhancing the overall experience for users.

Product Quality and Selection

Amtrak.com offers a range of train services with different classes and amenities, catering to diverse customer preferences. The quality of the trains and onboard facilities may vary across different routes and classes. However, Amtrak strives to maintain clean and comfortable spaces for passengers, ensuring a satisfactory travel experience for most customers.

Website Usability

Amtrak.com excels in terms of website usability, presenting a clear and concise layout. The search function simplifies the booking process, and users can easily browse through available options. The website also provides comprehensive information on train schedules, station facilities, and travel-related policies, ensuring users have all the necessary details at their fingertips.

Returns and Exchanges

Amtrak.com has a straightforward refund and exchange policy for tickets. Customers can manage their bookings online, making changes or requesting refunds easily. However, it is important to review the specific terms and conditions related to each ticket type, as some fares may be non-refundable or subject to specific rules.

Promotions and Discounts

Amtrak.com frequently offers promotional fares and discounts to make train travel more affordable. They have special deals for certain routes, holidays, and events, allowing travelers to save money. Additionally, Amtrak provides discounted fares for seniors, children, students, veterans, and military personnel, making it more inclusive and accommodating for various demographics.

Reputation

Amtrak has a long-standing reputation as a reliable and efficient rail operator in the United States. While occasional delays or disruptions may occur, Amtrak is generally respected for its extensive network, commitment to safety, and customer satisfaction. The company's dedication to providing accessible and eco-friendly travel options has contributed to its positive reputation.

Payment Options

Amtrak.com offers various payment options to cater to customer preferences. Users can conveniently pay for their tickets online using major credit cards, such as Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. Additionally, Amtrak also accepts debit cards as a payment method, ensuring flexibility and ease for customers.

Loyalty Programs

Amtrak offers a loyalty program called Amtrak Guest Rewards, allowing frequent travelers to earn points for their train journeys. These points can be redeemed for free or discounted tickets, upgrades, hotel stays, car rentals, and other rewards. The program encourages customer loyalty and provides additional benefits for regular Amtrak passengers.

Customer Reviews

Customer reviews of Amtrak.com and Amtrak services are generally positive. Many travelers appreciate the ease of booking, friendly customer service, and the unique experience of train travel. However, some reviews mention occasional delays, variability in onboard amenities, or cleanliness issues as areas for improvement. Overall, the reviews highlight Amtrak's commitment to customer satisfaction and its efforts to continuously enhance the travel experience.

Community Involvement

Amtrak demonstrates community involvement through various initiatives and partnerships. The company actively engages with local communities and organizations to support economic development, improve transportation access, and promote sustainability. Amtrak's commitment to community involvement contributes to its positive impact on society and localities it serves.

Shipping and Costs

Amtrak.com focuses on passenger transport rather than shipping services. While they do not provide shipping options for packages or cargo, Amtrak offers travelers the convenience of bringing luggage on board at no additional cost. Passengers can carry their belongings within specific size and weight limits, ensuring a hassle-free travel experience without the need for additional shipping arrangements.