Archerandolive Reviews

Voted Poor (3/5)

3 Votes

9 Reviews

Vote Now

In the Big Sales category

Pie-Chart Analysis

33% users rated Terrible
0% users rated Poor
33% users rated Average
0% users rated Very Good
33% users rated Excellent
Write a review
Z Zack
62 days ago

The Archer & Olive Journal: A Mixed Bag with Onerous Shipping Costs

As a creative individual, finding the perfect journal is paramount to my artistic expression. After hearing rave reviews about the Archer & Olive journal, I was eager to test its compatibility with my light watercolor techniques. The 8 x 8 format and the exquisite packaging indeed lived up to the hype, providing a canvas for my thoughts and creations. However, the journal's performance with light watercolors fell short of my expectations, leaving me somewhat underwhelmed. Despite the initial disappointment, what truly soured my experience was the exorbitant shipping costs to Europe. At a staggering $70 prior to import/customs on a $40 product, it left me baffled and disheartened. This steep shipping fee starkly contrasted with competitors who offer more reasonable rates, making me question the integrity of this pricing strategy. Overall, while the Archer & Olive journal has its merits, the staggering shipping costs have left me hesitant to support the brand further. I sincerely hope that the company reconsiders their international shipping policies to provide a more transparent and fair experience for their global customer base.
Z Zack
62 days ago

Life-Changing Journal, but Shipping Woes Leave a Bitter Note

My experience with archerandolive.com has been a mixed bag. The journal itself is a game-changer. Its 8 x 8 format and the unique box it comes in are delightful. However, when it comes to handling light watercolor, there's a bit of struggle. Now, let's talk about the elephant in the room - shipping. If you're in Europe, brace yourself. The $70 shipping cost (before import/customs) for a $40 product is hard to swallow, especially when competitors offer the same for half the price. It leaves a bitter taste and makes it hard to justify repurchasing. Come on, Archer and Olive, you're better than this.
Z Zack
62 days ago

Journal is OK–shipping is a scam

My review for archerandolive.com Journal is OK, doesn't take light watercolour super well. Nice box and I like the 8 x 8 format. BUT... The shipping situation to Europe is ridiculous. It is 70$ before import/customs. On a $40 product that competitors can ship for half the amount. Do better guys. You're scamming people.
C Chrissy
782 days ago

Archer and Olive: A Mixed Experience

As an avid bullet journal enthusiast, I've had my fair share of experiences with archerandolive.com. While the team's customer service is undeniably warm and accommodating, my journey with them has been a mixed bag of highs and lows. Let's start with the positives. The bullet journals themselves are a work of art. The delicate design on the shrink-wrapped cardboard boxes makes them a pleasure to receive and an instant go-to for gifting. The thoughtfulness put into the packaging reflects the company's dedication to offering a premium product. However, this commendable packaging ultimately becomes a double-edged sword. Despite the outer beauty, the absence of sufficient protective materials inside the shipping boxes leaves much to be desired. This has resulted in my journals arriving with crimped corners and damages, courtesy of the rough handling during shipping. Of course, I must tip my hat to A&O for their responsive approach to addressing these concerns. They were quick to send replacement boxes when I raised the issue, showcasing their commitment to making things right. Nevertheless, the cycle repeated itself with the replacement boxes and subsequent orders, causing unnecessary frustration and inconvenience. While I appreciate the company's efforts to rectify the situation, the recurring need to reach out for replacements not only adds to avoidable waste but also detracts from the overall experience. It's disheartening when such a small yet vital aspect overshadows the otherwise exceptional product and service. In essence, my journey with Archer and Olive has been a rollercoaster. The allure of their exquisite bullet journals is undeniable, as is the genuine nature of their customer service. Yet, the persistent issue of inadequate packaging diminishes the initial delight of receiving their meticulously crafted creations. In the end, my hope is that A&O will take proactive measures to improve their packaging process, ensuring that the unwavering beauty of their products is preserved throughout the journey to the customer's hands.
C Chrissy
782 days ago

Unrivaled Customer Service and Stunning Design, But Shipping Woes Persist

As a dedicated customer of archerandolive.com, I have indulged in their exquisite bullet journals multiple times. The allure of their genuine, friendly customer service has always been a major draw for me. The staff's unwavering eagerness to assist has left a lasting impression, making me feel truly valued as a customer. The bullet journals themselves are a sight to behold, arriving individually encased in captivating, shrink-wrapped cardboard boxes adorned with delicate designs. These not only make for perfect instant gifts but also provide an appealing storage solution for both unused and completed journals. However, the enchantment wanes when these meticulously packaged treasures fall prey to the perils of shipping. Regrettably, the absence of adequate interior packaging material within the shipping boxes has proven to be a recurring issue. The consequential mishandling by national shipping companies has led to the arrival of my journals with battered, creased corners. While I commend A&O for their responsive approach to addressing such concerns and their earnest attempts to right any shipping-related mishaps, the persisting oversight in ensuring secure packaging continues to mar my overall experience. This not only perpetuates avoidable waste but also necessitates the inconvenience of initiating multiple exchanges, detracting from the initial excitement of receiving my orders. Although replacements were promptly dispatched upon reporting damaged deliveries, the absence of protective packaging persisted, recurring in subsequent orders. Undoubtedly, the allure of A&O's products and their commendable customer service warrant a higher rating. However, the recurrent shipping oversights detract from an otherwise stellar experience. I sincerely hope to see a resolution to this issue, as it would undoubtedly elevate the overall customer satisfaction and further augment the brand's appeal.
C Chrissy
782 days ago

I’ve bought bullet journals from this…

My review for archerandolive.com I've bought bullet journals from this company several times, and while their customer service seems genuine, friendly and happy to assist, there are a lot of issues that make my personal experience with them less than stellar. Primarily it concerns the way things are shipped and packaged. A&O bujos come individually packaged in beautiful, shrink-wrapped cardboard boxes with a delicate design on the top of the box. This makes them not only perfect for easy and instant gifting, but also gives you a place to store either still unused or finished bujos...in theory. The problem is that, in my personal experience, they basically use zero packaging materials inside the shipping boxes: no bubblewrap, no air pillows, nothing. Given that none of the national shipping companies care how your items arrive and the boxes are likely kicked, dropped, thrown all over creation in the process of getting to you, the end result of this means banged up, crimped corners. I will give A&O credit for being extremely approachable and always working to make a problem right - but it's really frustrating when something so simple keeps happening. They sent me replacement boxes when I contacted them about an order I placed at the end of last year to tell them I had a bunch of damaged boxes - which is great, but then the replacement boxes also got shipped without packaging materials...as did a second order I placed with them. I'd like to give them a higher score but leaving aside the fact that this just created additional and completely unnecessary, avoidable waste, it's also just a hassle to have to keep going back instead of getting my order intact in the first place.
J Jill
918 days ago

The best!

I cannot contain my excitement about Archer & Olive! After years of searching for the perfect journal, I finally stumbled upon their website and decided to give their notebooks a try. Let me tell you, I have never looked back. The paper quality is impeccable, especially for my watercolor illustrations. Unlike other journals, the paper doesn't buckle or let the ink bleed through to the next page. The clean white background with unobtrusive dots provides the perfect canvas for my colorful artwork. Plus, the 192 pages in the notebook is more than enough for all my monthly spreads and more. Not only are the notebooks sturdy, but the paper also lies completely flat, which is a game-changer when I'm working on detailed designs. The addition of two page markers, a back pocket, a closure band, and a pen holder makes these journals not just functional but also stylish and convenient. I know you can find cheaper options out there, but trust me, the quality you get with Archer & Olive is absolutely worth the investment. These journals have everything I need without any of the usual compromises. I'm absolutely in love with them!
J Jill
918 days ago

A Diary Dream Come True

Unveiling my experience with Archer and Olive, I must say, it's been nothing short of magical. With each stroke on their luxurious paper, my creativity finds new heights. The impeccable quality stands tall, graciously accepting my watercolour wonders without a hint of protest, unlike flimsier competitors. No longer do I fear the dreaded bleed-through of ink, thanks to the sturdy pages that embrace my art with grace. The clean, white canvas adorned with subtle dots is a perfectionist's paradise, setting the stage for my colourful masterpieces to shine like never before. Eager to contain my thoughts and artistry within a single space, the generous 192 pages effortlessly house my musings, plans, and sketches with room to spare. The durable construction and lay-flat design of these notebooks are a boon for crisp lines and seamless creations, while the thoughtful additions of dual page markers, a convenient back pocket, a secure closure band, and a cherished pen holder make organization a breeze. The vibrant range of cover colours, coupled with tasteful embellishments, adds a touch of elegance to my creative journey. Sure, cheaper alternatives exist, but the value that Archer and Olive bring to the table is unrivaled. They have truly set the bar high, fulfilling all my bullet journaling desires without compromise. In a world of notebooks, Archer and Olive reign supreme as my ultimate companion.
J Jill
918 days ago

The best!

My review for archerandolive.com I have used several journals in the last few years and Archer and Olive are the very best notebooks I've tried. The paper quality is excellent, particularly for watercolour illustrations, as it doesn't buckle like thinner papers does; nor do pens bleed through to the next page. The paper is a clean white with visible but unobtrusive dots and sets off coloured illustrations perfectly unlike the more yellow paper of other journals. The last book I bought was 192 pages, which for me is sufficient to accommodate both the introductory pages and 12 monthly sections, without having to spit my journal over two books. The books are sturdy and the paper lies flat (which is important when drawing clean lines) and they have two page markers, a back pocket, a closure band and (hooray!) a pen holder. The covers come in a range of beautiful colours with stylish but subtle decorations. It's all I need in a bujo without having to make the usual compromises. Yes, you can buy less expensive notebooks but Archer and Olive's are so worth the additional outlay. I love them!

Introduction

Archer and Olive is an online retailer specializing in high-quality, handcrafted journals and notebooks. Founded in 2014 by Bonnie Kuhl, the brand has gained a strong reputation for its exquisite craftsmanship and attention to detail. With a commitment to creating spaces where creativity can thrive, Archer and Olive has become a go-to destination for artists, bullet journal enthusiasts, writers, and stationery lovers worldwide.

Pros and Cons

Pros:

  • Superb craftsmanship and attention to detail
  • Wide range of unique and beautifully designed products
  • Thick, high-quality paper that prevents ink bleed-through
  • Stunning covers with thoughtful designs and intricate details
  • Offers a variety of formats, including dot grid and blank pages
  • Eco-friendly production practices and use of sustainable materials

Cons:

  • Higher price point compared to some other brands
  • Limited selection of sizes
  • Some users may find the paper thickness excessive
  • International shipping can be expensive and time-consuming

User Experience

Archer and Olive's website provides a seamless and enjoyable user experience. The layout is clean and intuitive, making it easy to navigate through various product categories and find exactly what you're looking for. The website is visually appealing, with stunning product images that accurately represent the item's quality and design. Product pages are informative, providing detailed descriptions and specifications to help customers make informed purchasing decisions.

Pricing and Value for Money

Archer and Olive products are priced at a premium level, reflecting their exceptional quality and artistry. While the prices may be higher compared to some other brands, customers are paying for the meticulous craftsmanship, attention to detail, and the use of sustainable materials. The value for money is evident in the durability of the products, allowing users to enjoy their journals and notebooks for an extended period.

Customer Service

Archer and Olive prides itself on providing excellent customer service. Their friendly and knowledgeable support team is readily available to address any queries or concerns customers may have. They are responsive and strive to ensure a positive customer experience throughout the purchasing process. The brand values its customers and goes the extra mile to offer personalized assistance whenever needed.

Product Quality and Selection

Archer and Olive's commitment to exceptional product quality is unwavering. Each journal and notebook is meticulously handcrafted with attention to detail, resulting in superior craftsmanship. The paper used is thick and of the highest quality, minimizing ink bleed-through and ghosting. The brand's selection includes a variety of stunning covers and designs, allowing customers to find a product that resonates with their personal style and preferences.

Website Usability

The Archer and Olive website is designed with user convenience in mind. It loads quickly and features an intuitive layout that facilitates easy browsing and searching. The menu and navigation tools are clearly visible, enabling users to explore various product categories effortlessly. The website is optimized for both desktop and mobile devices, ensuring a seamless experience across different platforms.

Returns and Exchanges

Archer and Olive have a well-defined and customer-friendly return and exchange policy. If you are unsatisfied with your purchase, you can return it within a specified period for a refund or exchange. The brand understands that customer satisfaction is crucial and aims to resolve any issues promptly and efficiently.

Promotions and Discounts

While Archer and Olive do not frequently offer promotions or discounts, they occasionally run sales or limited-time promotional events. These discounts provide an opportunity for customers to acquire their favorite journals and notebooks at more accessible price points.

Reputation

Archer and Olive enjoy a stellar reputation within the creative community. The brand is highly regarded for its commitment to quality, unique designs, and dedication to customer satisfaction. Positive reviews from satisfied customers further solidify its reputation as a trusted and reputable provider of premium journals and notebooks.

Payment Options

Archer and Olive offer a variety of convenient payment options to ensure a hassle-free checkout process. Customers can pay using major credit cards, including Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. Additionally, the website also accepts payments through PayPal, providing an extra layer of security and convenience.

Loyalty Programs

Archer and Olive currently do not offer a specific loyalty program. However, the brand occasionally rewards its loyal customers with exclusive discounts or early access to new product launches.

Customer Reviews

Customer reviews of Archer and Olive products are overwhelmingly positive. Users consistently rave about the exceptional craftsmanship, the quality of the paper, and the stunning designs. Many customers appreciate the brand's commitment to sustainable practices and the use of eco-friendly materials. These positive customer reviews collectively illustrate the trustworthiness and excellence associated with Archer and Olive.

Community Involvement

Archer and Olive actively engage with their community by regularly interacting with customers on social media platforms. They share inspirational content, encourage creativity, and foster a sense of belonging among their customers. Additionally, the brand supports and collaborates with artists and creators, further strengthening their community involvement.

Shipping and Costs

Archer and Olive offer both domestic and international shipping options. Shipping costs and delivery times vary based on the customer's location. Customers can choose from different shipping methods during the checkout process. However, international shipping rates can be relatively high, and delivery times may be longer due to customs procedures. Despite this, Archer and Olive strive to ensure products are packaged securely and arrive in pristine condition.

In conclusion, Archer and Olive is a trusted and esteemed brand offering exceptional journals and notebooks that cater to the needs of artists, writers, and stationery enthusiasts. With their commitment to quality, sustainability, and outstanding customer service, Archer and Olive has become a go-to destination for those seeking a premium and creative journaling experience.