Artiphon Reviews

Voted Average (4/5)

258 Votes

79 Reviews

Vote Now

In the Musical Instrument Manufacturer category

Pie-Chart Analysis

28% users rated Terrible
3% users rated Poor
10% users rated Average
20% users rated Very Good
39% users rated Excellent
Write a review
M Mark Gibbs
26 days ago

Artiphon’s Lack of Ethics

My review for artiphon.com Artiphon ran a Kickstarter campaign to launch their new product, the Chorda. As is often the case with Kickstarter projects, the campaign ran behind schedule but the company at least kept backers reasonably well informed on their progress. They supposedly started shipping at the end on 2023 but since then only a small number of backers have received product and, it transpires, Artiphon is now selling the product via retailers. I checked with Sweetwater, one of their resellers, who, as of a few days ago, had eight Chordas in stock. I spoke to one of their extremely helpful sales engineers who told me they put Chordas on pre-order back in November and start shipping around December 28th last year. They've sold something like 80 units since then. This puts paid to Artiphon's claims of shipping problems and underlines that the company has probably been trying to bootstrap sales and thereby cash flow for the product. The problem with this is the lack of transparency and the company's assumption that backers can just suck it. It's a monumental failure of ethics no matter how you view it. Finally, Artiphon has no published phone numbers at all; you can only contact them via email. That says a lot about the company. A one star rating is more than they deserve.
M Mark Gibbs
26 days ago

Artiphon’s Lack of Ethics

My review for artiphon.com Update: Really? That's Artiphon's response? This is just deflection; "Let's post something and hope it goes away."Since my original review (see below), I've received my reward and it's impressive. It's a well-designed and nicely engineered device and I'm pleased I backed the Kickstarter campaign albeit that the company's communications and behavior was disappointing so I guess I should not be surprised that rather than address or even acknowledge my complaint, the company decided to trot out a non-reply. Will I ever back an Artiphin project again should they do one? Nope. Will I forever see the company and their CEO as unethical? Yep. Will they care? Obviously not. Original Review: Artiphon ran a Kickstarter campaign to launch their new product, the Chorda. As is often the case with Kickstarter projects, the campaign ran behind schedule but the company at least kept backers reasonably well informed on their progress. They supposedly started shipping at the end on 2023 but since then only a small number of backers have received product and, it transpires, Artiphon is now selling the product via retailers. I checked with Sweetwater, one of their resellers, who, as of a few days ago, had eight Chordas in stock. I spoke to one of their extremely helpful sales engineers who told me they put Chordas on pre-order back in November and start shipping around December 28th last year. They've sold something like 80 units since then. This puts paid to Artiphon's claims of shipping problems and underlines that the company has probably been trying to bootstrap sales and thereby cash flow for the product. The problem with this is the lack of transparency and the company's assumption that backers can just suck it. It's a monumental failure of ethics no matter how you view it. Finally, Artiphon has no published phone numbers at all; you can only contact them via email. That says a lot about the company. A one star rating is more than they deserve.
S Stefan Attaway
47 days ago

Unveiling the Unfortunate Experience with Chorda from Artiphon

Dear music enthusiasts, it is with a heavy heart that I share my disheartening journey with Chorda from Artiphon. I placed my order on 12/19, eagerly anticipating the arrival of this innovative musical instrument. However, my excitement turned into disappointment when I received a unit that was dead on arrival and would not charge. My efforts to seek support on 1/3 were met with troubleshooting instructions that proved futile, as the device required a Windows or Mac PC, a requirement undisclosed during purchase or in any of Artiphon's marketing materials. Realizing that I needed to purchase a Windows PC to proceed, I felt the weight of an additional $200 expenditure for a necessity that was never communicated to me. Eventually, on 1/5, I received permission to return the non-functional equipment and was provided with a shipping label. However, what followed was a series of unanswered emails, unfulfilled promises, and a lack of status updates regarding the return and refund process. As my unit made its way back to Artiphon's facility, I was met with a long period of radio silence, with no acknowledgment of my inquiries or the status of my return. The lack of communication and accountability left me feeling utterly let down and disheartened. This experience has been far from the promise of quality and service that Artiphon represents, and it pains me to have been treated in such a manner. Through this genuine account of my experience, I urge both Artiphon and potential customers to recognize the impact of such disappointments on loyal patrons. It is my hope that my feedback serves as a catalyst for improvement and transparency in customer service, ensuring that no other individual has to endure the same sense of disillusionment. In the midst of this challenging encounter, I remain hopeful that Artiphon will acknowledge and address these shortcomings, ultimately working towards restoring the trust and satisfaction of its valued clientele.
S Stefan Attaway
47 days ago

Unveiling the Heartbreak: My Chorda Experience with Artiphon

As a passionate music enthusiast, I was elated when I stumbled upon Artiphon's Chorda. Placing my order on 12/19, I eagerly awaited its arrival, only to be taken aback when it was shipped from Hong Kong. Despite the initial setback, the real disappointment struck when I received a unit that was dead on arrival and refused to charge. My hopes were dashed as I reached out to customer support on 1/3, only to be met with a series of futile troubleshooting attempts. It was then revealed that I needed a Windows or Mac PC, a requirement undisclosed during my purchase, as an avid Chromebook and Android user. Feeling disheartened and out of pocket, I reluctantly purchased a Windows PC as instructed, adding an extra $200 expense to my Chorda investment. The lack of transparency regarding system requirements left me feeling misled and undervalued as a customer. Despite finally receiving permission to return the non-functional unit on 1/5, the ordeal continued. My emails went unanswered and the return process dragged on with no updates or communication from Artiphon. The lack of accountability and customer care left me feeling utterly defrauded. This nightmarish experience with Chorda and Artiphon has been anything but what I was promised as a valued customer. The disregard for transparency and customer satisfaction has left me wondering why such treatment would befall anyone.
S Stefan Attaway
47 days ago

Unveiling the Disappointing Experience with Chorda: A Shocking Revelation

I recently embarked on a journey to explore the innovative world of artiphon.com and their product, Chorda. To my dismay, my adventure descended into a tumultuous ordeal that left me questioning the integrity of the company. Upon placing my order on 12/19, I eagerly awaited the arrival of my Chorda, only to be blindsided by the revelation that it was shipping from Hong Kong. The excitement of unboxing the product quickly dissipated as I discovered that the unit was dead on arrival and refused to charge. My attempt to seek support on 1/3 was met with a series of futile troubleshooting attempts, coupled with the unexpected bombshell that I needed a Windows or Mac PC for the firmware update, despite being a Chromebook and Android user. This crucial requirement was conspicuously absent from the website and all marketing materials, leaving me bewildered and out $200 for a PC I didn't need. The subsequent process of obtaining permission to return the non-functional unit was met with a distressing lack of communication and progress. Despite my efforts to reach out, there was an alarming void of replies to my emails, and the status of the unit remained shrouded in mystery. As days turned into weeks with no resolution in sight, I found myself grappling with a sense of being deceived and defrauded. This nightmarish experience deviated drastically from the promises made by Artiphon, leaving me deeply disillusioned and utterly perplexed by the disregard for customer satisfaction. In conclusion, my encounter with Chorda has been a harrowing tale of shattered expectations and unfulfilled promises, serving as a cautionary reminder of the importance of transparency and integrity in customer relations.
S Stefan Attaway
47 days ago

Chorda

My review for artiphon.com Chorda, Ordered 12/19 (Surprise it ships from Hong Kong)Received DOA unit that would not charge 1/2First communication to support for help 1/3Given: Try this, then this, then this, nothing works. Informed I needed to have a Windows or Mac PC when I am chromebook and Android only.1/4 Go buy a windows PC for a non functional unit, I am out $200 for the PC I don't really need but this unit somehow requires, which is stated no where on the website or in any marketing material at Artiphon stating a Windows PC is required when you first receive the unit and when you perform the required firmware update. 1/5 finally recieve permission to send the non functional equipment I purchased back and a shipping label.1/6 Send email to Artiphon, No reply, Shipped via UPS store back to Artiphon1/7 In route to Nashville1/8 Arrives in UPS Facility in Nashville1/9 Loaded into delivery truck1/10 No Status1/11 No Status1/12 No Status, Sent email, No reply1/13 No Status1/14 No Status1/15 No Status1/16 No replies to email, no status on unit. How would anyone not feel defrauded? This has been a horrid experience and not what was promised by Artiphon, why would anyone treat customers in this manner.
M Marina Razsoshenko
56 days ago

Artiphon’s EU Store Delivered Beyond Expectations!

My experience with artiphon.com's EU store, artiphon.proactiveaudio.eu, exceeded all expectations. I was initially hesitant due to some negative reviews, but I decided to take the leap and place an order. To my delight, the product arrived promptly and was exactly as described. The customer service was also incredibly helpful and responsive, easing any concerns I initially had. I'm thrilled with my purchase and would highly recommend Artiphon to anyone looking for high-quality music products.
M Marina Razsoshenko
56 days ago

Reassured by Artiphon’s Exceptional Customer Service and Product Quality

As an avid music enthusiast and amateur musician, I was initially apprehensive about making a purchase from Artiphon, especially after coming across a negative review questioning the legitimacy of their EU store. Despite my concerns, I decided to give them a chance after being reassured by the overwhelmingly positive feedback from other customers. I reached out to Artiphon's customer support team to address my reservations, and I was pleasantly surprised by their prompt and empathetic response. Not only did they provide me with a detailed update on the status of my order, but they also took the time to alleviate any lingering doubts I had about their EU store's authenticity. Upon receiving my order, I was blown away by the quality of the product. The craftsmanship and innovative design exceeded my expectations, leaving me in awe of the level of artistry that went into creating it. In retrospect, I can confidently attest to the exceptional customer service and genuine commitment to customer satisfaction exhibited by Artiphon. They not only dispelled any misgivings I had but also delivered a product that has significantly enriched my musical pursuits. I'm truly grateful for their dedication to ensuring a positive customer experience and for providing musicians like me with a platform to explore our creativity. In conclusion, Artiphon has proven to be a reliable and reputable source for music technology, and I wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone seeking top-notch products and unparalleled customer support. Thank you, Artiphon, for going above and beyond to earn my trust and loyalty.
M Marina Razsoshenko
56 days ago

EU Store is a scam?

My review for artiphon.com Their EU page - artiphon.proactiveaudio.eu looks like scam. I made an order 4 days ago and I did not receive any information about the shipping of my order. So I wanted to write to support and ask about it, but now I see that the page is down and whole website looks like scam. I'm worrying now that I just lost 200 euros and will never get my order.
M Marina Razsoshenko
56 days ago

EU Store is a scam?

My review for artiphon.com Their EU page - artiphon.proactiveaudio.eu looks like scam. I made an order 4 days ago and I did not receive any information about the shipping of my order. So I wanted to write to support and ask about it, but now I see that the page is down and whole website looks like scam. I'm worrying now that I just lost 200 euros and will never get my order.
D Don Grundy
61 days ago

Unlocking Potential with a Learning Curve

As a musician, I was drawn to artiphon.com for its promise of a versatile instrument. My experience has been positive overall, but I can't deny the learning curve. While the platform is undeniably capable, navigating its full potential is far from intuitive. Accessing instruments is a breeze, yet mastering functions like looping proves challenging. At times, it's easier to reset the loop rather than seamlessly halt it. Despite this, I recognize the immense potential within this platform. It's a tool that rewards dedication and study, offering a rich musical experience for those willing to invest the time.
D Don Grundy
61 days ago

Unleashing Musical Potential: A Testimonial for Artiphon

My journey with Artiphon has been nothing short of remarkable. As a musician, I was immediately drawn to the promise of boundless musical expression that the instrument offered. The capability of the device is truly impressive; it has enabled me to access a wide range of instruments with ease, sparking my creativity like never before. However, I must admit that the initial learning curve was steeper than expected. While accessing the instruments was a breeze, mastering the intricacies of looping and modifying the loop posed a significant challenge. At times, I found it easier to reset the loop by turning it off and on again, rather than figuring out the complex loop controls. Despite this hurdle, I firmly believe in the untapped potential of Artiphon. I am committed to delving deeper into its functionalities and am willing to invest the necessary time to unravel its full potential. I am convinced that with dedicated study and exploration, I will be able to harness this device to its fullest capacity, allowing it to work seamlessly as intended. In conclusion, while I encountered some initial difficulties, the sheer promise of Artiphon's capabilities has fueled my determination to master it. As I continue on this musical journey, I am excited about the endless possibilities that Artiphon holds for me and my craft.
D Don Grundy
61 days ago

Very capable, but far from intuitive.

My review for artiphon.com Very capable, but far from intuitive. It's easy to access the instruments, but hard to figure out how to loop or even turn off the loop. It's easier to turn it off and then back on again to get the loop to stop playing. It has a lot of potential but it will take a lot of study to get it to work as intended.
D Don Grundy
61 days ago

Very capable, but far from intuitive.

My review for artiphon.com Very capable, but far from intuitive. It's easy to access the instruments, but hard to figure out how to loop or even turn off the loop. It's easier to turn it off and then back on again to get the loop to stop playing. It has a lot of potential but it will take a lot of study to get it to work as intended.
K Kerry
106 days ago

Artiphon.com Delivered an Outstanding Customer Experience Despite Technical Challenges

As a customer of Artiphon.com, I experienced phenomenal service throughout the ordering, tracking, and delivery process of my unit. Despite my PC encountering technical issues that seemed to affect the performance of the product, the team's support has been exceptional. I've been grappling with a recurring "internal disconnect" issue with my PC every 30 minutes, causing inconvenience and frustration. Even after multiple firmware updates and with my SSD only half full, the problem persisted. However, the standout factor in this whole experience has been the outstanding customer service from Artiphon.com. The team has been incredibly supportive and understanding, going above and beyond to assist me in troubleshooting the technical challenges I've encountered. Their dedication to ensuring that I have a seamless and enjoyable experience with their product is truly commendable. Despite the hiccup with my PC, the exceptional level of service from Artiphon.com has left a lasting positive impression on me. I am confident that they are committed to providing the best possible experience for their customers, and I would highly recommend their products to anyone looking for top-notch quality and outstanding customer support. Thank you, Artiphon.com, for your unwavering commitment to customer satisfaction!

Introduction

Artiphon is a leading online retailer and manufacturer of innovative musical instruments that combine cutting-edge technology with traditional craftsmanship. Their mission is to inspire and empower people of all backgrounds to create music effortlessly. With a diverse range of products catering to musicians of different skill levels and interests, Artiphon has gained a reputation for delivering high-quality musical tools that are both innovative and intuitive.

Pros and Cons

  • Pros:
  1. Wide range of products to suit diverse musical needs
  2. Innovative technology that enables seamless integration with smartphones and computers
  3. Ergonomic and durable design
  4. Great for both beginners and professionals
  5. Responsive and accurate performance
  • Cons:
    1. Higher price point compared to traditional instruments
    2. Limited selection of instruments compared to conventional music stores
    3. May require some learning curve for users unfamiliar with digital interfaces
    4. Not suitable for musicians seeking a purely traditional sound

    User Experience

    Artiphon devices provide an exceptional user experience. The instruments are designed with an emphasis on intuitiveness, making them accessible to musicians of all skill levels. The integration of technology allows users to explore different sounds, effects, and customization options. The accompanying mobile and computer applications offer seamless connectivity and control, allowing users to experiment and compose music effortlessly.

    Pricing and Value for Money

    Artiphon instruments may appear expensive compared to traditional counterparts, but they provide excellent value for money. Their advanced technology, durability, and versatility justify the higher price. Additionally, the innovative features and seamless integration with modern devices offer a unique musical experience that traditional instruments cannot replicate.

    Alternatives

    While Artiphon is a standout brand in the digital instrument market, there are other alternatives available. Some notable alternatives include ROLI, Sensel, and Jamstik. Each brand brings its unique approach to instrument design and functionality. It is important to consider individual preferences, requirements, and budget when choosing the right musical tool.

    Customer Service

    Artiphon is known for providing excellent customer service. Their team is attentive, responsive, and knowledgeable. They offer support through various channels, including email and live chat, ensuring that customers receive prompt assistance with any queries or concerns. Whether it's technical assistance or order-related inquiries, Artiphon's customer service team strives to deliver a satisfactory experience to every customer.

    Product Quality and Selection

    Artiphon emphasizes product quality and craftsmanship. Their instruments are made with precision and attention to detail, resulting in robust and reliable devices. While the selection may not be as extensive as traditional music stores, Artiphon focuses on delivering innovative and versatile instruments that cater to a wide range of musical genres and preferences.

    Website Usability

    Artiphon's website is user-friendly and easy to navigate. The clean and modern design ensures a seamless browsing experience. Product categories are well-organized, and detailed information is provided for each instrument, including specifications, videos, and user reviews. Customers can make informed purchasing decisions with ease.

    Returns and Exchanges

    Artiphon offers a hassle-free returns and exchanges policy. If customers encounter any issues with their purchase, they can contact customer service for assistance. Artiphon ensures that the process is straightforward and resolves any problems promptly, allowing customers to enjoy their musical instruments without any inconvenience.

    Promotions and Discounts

    Artiphon occasionally offers promotions, discounts, and seasonal sales on their website. Customers can stay updated on these offers by subscribing to the Artiphon newsletter or following their social media accounts. These opportunities allow customers to secure their desired instruments at a more affordable price.

    Reputation

    Artiphon has established a strong reputation within the musical instrument industry. Their commitment to innovation, quality, and customer satisfaction has garnered positive reviews and endorsements from musicians and industry experts alike. With multiple awards and recognition for their products, Artiphon continues to gain the trust and respect of musicians worldwide.

    Payment Options

    Artiphon offers various payment options, including major credit cards, PayPal, and financing through Affirm. This variety ensures convenience and flexibility for customers, allowing them to choose the payment method that best suits their preferences and financial situation.

    Loyalty Programs

    Currently, Artiphon does not have a loyalty program. However, they occasionally offer exclusive deals and discounts to their newsletter subscribers and social media followers. Continuous engagement with Artiphon's updates can lead to accessing special promotions and benefits.

    Customer Reviews

    Customers consistently praise Artiphon for their innovative instruments, exceptional build quality, and intuitive user experience. Positive reviews highlight the creative possibilities offered by Artiphon's instruments, making them ideal for both seasoned musicians and beginners looking to explore new musical horizons.

    Community Involvement

    Artiphon actively engages with its community through social media platforms, an online forum, and regular updates on their website. They encourage musicians to share their experiences, music creations, and different ways of using the instruments. Artiphon values the input and creativity of its users, fostering a community that supports and inspires one another.

    Shipping and Costs

    Artiphon offers worldwide shipping to ensure customers from different regions can access their instruments. The shipping costs vary depending on the destination and preferred shipping method. Artiphon provides estimated delivery times during the checkout process, allowing customers to plan accordingly and choose the most suitable shipping option.