Users Voice for United

89% users rated Terrible
1% users rated Poor
1% users rated Average
1% users rated Very Good
7% users rated Excellent
Pie Chart Review Representation for United
United Overall rating
Customer Support
Pricing
Returns/Refunds
User Interface
Quality

Rate United Coupons Store

X
Customer Support
Click to Rate
Pricing
Click to Rate
Returns/Refunds
Click to Rate
User Interface
Click to Rate
Quality
Click to Rate

Review article published on: 22 Aug 2019

Last updated by on 06 Mar 2023

"The two things I love most about what I do is that I help people and I solve problems - it’s as simple as that. I help my organizations develop effective, relevant marketing content."
Jun 2022 1.2 2.9 5 5 5 1.4
Jul 2022 5 2.7 4.1 1 4 1.2
Aug 2022 1 2.8 4.4 1 4.8 1.1
Sep 2022 1.8 1.8 4.4 1 3.9 1.4
Mar 2023 5 2.8 4.4 1 4.7 1
Line Chart for Rating of peer stores

united.com

shein.com

priceline.com

gearbest.com

everyplate.com

agoda.com

Detailed United Review by

Introduction

United Airlines is one of the largest airlines in the world, operating flights to over 340 destinations globally. Their user-friendly website united.com is designed to provide customers with a seamless booking and travel experience. In this review, we will analyze the various aspects of united.com to help you make informed decisions.

Pros and Cons

Pros:
  • Multiple fare classes to choose from, including Economy, Basic Economy, Premium Economy, Business, and First Class
  • Flexibility to book one-way and multi-city flights
  • Access to more than 35 airline partners to book flights to destinations not served by United Airlines
  • Easy to navigate website with intuitive search filters to find the best flight options
  • Exciting rewards programs for frequent flyers with MileagePlus
Cons:
  • Baggage fees apply to both Economy and Basic Economy fares
  • Limited routes and schedules in certain regions
  • High ticket prices compared to low-cost carriers

User Experience

United.com is well designed with a minimalistic layout, making it easy to navigate for new users. The search filters make it effortless to find available flights, and the calendar view is an added advantage when booking flights. The ability to select seats, meals, and upgrade options are made available during the booking process, which saves users time when checking in for their flights.

Pricing and Value for Money

United Airlines' ticket prices are generally higher than low-cost carriers. However, they offer a wide range of fares for different travel preferences, making it more competitive with other full-service airlines. Customers can opt for Basic Economy fares, but fees will apply for checked baggage and seat selection. Also, the premium fares provide added benefits such as priority boarding, baggage allowances, and access to premium lounges, which provides significant value for money.

Alternatives

Delta, American Airlines, and Alaska Airlines are some of the main competitors in the US domestic flight market. Ryanair, EasyJet, and Norwegian Airlines are popular low-cost airline options in Europe. Other airlines such as Emirates, Qatar Airways, and Singapore Airlines dominate the international market.

Customer Service

United Airlines provides customer service through their website, over the phone, or through social media channels. They offer a 24/7 support system for booking, ticketing, and travel-related queries. The airline also has a dedicated page for COVID-19 travel-related queries, which communicates any updates or changes to travel regulations.

Product Quality and Selection

United Airlines provides a high level of service on its flights with personalized attention to every passenger's needs. The airline offers a wide range of in-flight entertainment and onboard dining options, including special meal requests and premium wines and cocktails.

Website Usability

United.com is easy to use and intuitive, with a minimalist design that helps customers find the information they need quickly. The website is also mobile-friendly, making it easy to book or check-in for flights on the go.

Returns and Exchanges

United Airlines offers refunds for cancellations made within 24 hours of purchase or due to a severe illness. Customers can also make changes to their bookings for a fee, with some restrictions based on the fare type purchased.

Promotions and Discounts

United Airlines regularly offers promotions and discounts on its website, which can help users save money on their travel bookings. They also provide exclusive deals for MileagePlus members, including discounted flights and car rental offers.

Reputation

United Airlines has had several controversies in the past, but they continue to improve their services and offer travelers a comfortable and smooth travel experience. They have received several awards for their customer service and mileage programs.

Payment Options

United.com accepts payments through American Express, Discover, Mastercard, and Visa credit cards. Customers can also pay via PayPal, United Gift Cards, or through MileagePlus reward points.

Loyalty Programs

United Airlines offers a loyalty program called MileagePlus, which rewards frequent flyers with miles for every flight. MileagePlus miles can be redeemed for flights, car rentals, hotel stays, and other travel-related expenses.

Customer Reviews

United Airlines has a mixed reputation online, with some customers expressing dissatisfaction with their experiences. However, the airline has worked to improve its services and address these complaints in recent years.

Community Involvement

United Airlines participates in various community-based initiatives, including donating to charity organizations and supporting environmental sustainability programs. They also work with non-profit organizations to provide assistance to at-risk and vulnerable populations.

Shipping and Costs

Shipping does not apply to united.com as it is a flight booking website. However, additional fees apply for checked baggage and seat selection, which should be considered when booking flights. Overall, United.com offers a smooth user experience with convenient options to book flights and plan journeys easily. They provide a range of flight options to cater to all budgets and preferences, with a focus on customer satisfaction and loyalty.

United Recent User Reviews

User Rating

👤

Reviewer Name: Dave

Review Submission Date: 2022-09-04

Review Title: United Airlines Number
Customer Support   

Pricing                     

Returns/Refunds     

User Interface          

Quality                     


Review Description: United Airlines Number +1-888. (233)-(5742),Reservation office is open 9am-6pm. Phone number +1-888. (233)-(5742)is For Flight Booking, Flight Changes or Flight cancellation via Customer Care. Book Now @United Airlines.

👤

Reviewer Name: JJ

Review Submission Date: 2022-08-07

Review Title: Customer Service Just Hung Up on Me! RUDE
Customer Support   

Pricing                     

Returns/Refunds     

User Interface          

Quality                     


Review Description: 3am and i've called and waited in queue 3 times tonight. finally i get through. i complain about the terrible website of United Airlines and the 'customer service' agents hangs up on me!!!! Terrible airline to deal with. Terrible website to book tickets on. Impossible to find detailed and clearly stated information on cancel/refund policies.sadly, i have points to spend to be rid of United!! : (

👤

Reviewer Name: customer

Review Submission Date: 2022-07-09

Review Title: Never ever use them
Customer Support   

Pricing                     

Returns/Refunds     

User Interface          

Quality                     


Review Description: Never ever use them, you will regret surely.

👤

Reviewer Name: David McLagan

Review Submission Date: 2022-05-06

Review Title: Shockingly bad from start to finish
Customer Support   

Pricing                     

Returns/Refunds     

User Interface          

Quality                     


Review Description: Shockingly bad from start to finish. Rude cabin crew, appalling lack of any service and fithly unattended bathrooms on-board, capped off with 1.5 hours sitting on the Newark tarmac waiting to disembark. "Fly the friendly skies" must be the most ironic slogan in all advertising history.

👤

Reviewer Name: Harry Ostwald

Review Submission Date: 2021-11-10

Review Title: United Airlines treatment for loyal…
Customer Support   

Pricing                     

Returns/Refunds     

User Interface          

Quality                     


Review Description: United Airlines treatment for loyal 1K2 Million miles leaves a lot to be desired. Paid 3700.00 for a first class trip from DFW to YUL. The flight from DC to YUL was cancelled because of broken aircraft. They routed me through YYZ and I missed my Air Canada connection, taken off the flight etc. Having to beg to get back on etc. UAL credits me 398.00 for the downgrade. This credit comes 25 days later and three phone calls having to be made. WOW - this is pathetic. So much for loyalty with UAL. Choose another airline.

👤

Reviewer Name: Harry Ostwald

Review Submission Date: 2021-11-10

Review Title: United Airlines treatment for loyal…
Customer Support   

Pricing                     

Returns/Refunds     

User Interface          

Quality                     


Review Description: United Airlines treatment for loyal 1K/2 Million miles leaves a lot to be desired. Paid 3700.00 for a first class trip from DFW to YUL. The flight from DC to YUL was cancelled because of broken aircraft. They routed me through YYZ and I missed my Air Canada connection, taken off the flight etc. Having to beg to get back on etc. UAL credits me 398.00 for the downgrade. This credit comes 25 days later and three phone calls having to be made. WOW - this is pathetic. So much for loyalty with UAL. Choose another airline.

👤

Reviewer Name: Denise Bell

Review Submission Date: 2021-10-06

Review Title: I called united to change my…
Customer Support   

Pricing                     

Returns/Refunds     

User Interface          

Quality                     


Review Description: I called united to change my destination they wanted me to get a whole new ticket instead and paying more money out never book with them again

👤

Reviewer Name: Denise Bell

Review Submission Date: 2021-10-06

Review Title: I called united to change my…
Customer Support   

Pricing                     

Returns/Refunds     

User Interface          

Quality                     


Review Description: I called united to change my destination they wanted me to get a whole new ticket instead and paying more money out never book with them again

👤

Reviewer Name: Kirsty Bell

Review Submission Date: 2021-09-05

Review Title: Awful
Customer Support   

Pricing                     

Returns/Refunds     

User Interface          

Quality                     


Review Description: Awful! Hours on phone! Cancelled flight… no one knows anything! Do not book a united flight!

👤

Reviewer Name: Kirsty Bell

Review Submission Date: 2021-09-05

Review Title: Awful
Customer Support   

Pricing                     

Returns/Refunds     

User Interface          

Quality                     


Review Description: Awful! Hours on phone! Cancelled flight… no one knows anything! Do not book a united flight!