Viator Reviews

Voted Good (4/5)

183768 Votes

420 Reviews

Vote Now

In the Travel Agency category

Pie-Chart Analysis

15% users rated Terrible
3% users rated Poor
4% users rated Average
5% users rated Very Good
73% users rated Excellent
Write a review
R Rohit Krishna
0 days ago

Spring book national park

My review for viator.com Spring book national park I had booked for 2 people, though the payment went through, it was showing pending status. When I called up viator for a confirmation the representative could not confirm it either. She asked me to wait for 2 more days. Meanwhile someone from the actual tour operator reached to me to book directly with them stating discrepancy between them and viator. With just 2 days left I had no choice but to cancel and made alternative arrangements.
J Julie Karriman
0 days ago

Terrible customer service

My review for viator.com After numerous online chats and emails and a phone call - we have yet to receive out tickets for a tour tomorrow. It would be less frustrating if we were allowed to print our tickets instead of having to go thru an app to receive them.
E EvelynP
0 days ago

Viator Staff very helpful

My review for viator.com Gerald from viator answered my call when I haven't heard from the tour operator I was trying to message for about 5 days already with no response. He called the tour operator himself and got my issues resolved. As a result, the tour operator messaged me back with my concerns and succeeding requests for information. Thank you, Gerald. One suggestion for viator though is that we be given a toll free number to call, so we won't be charged for our call. Thanks 😊
R Ruth Jongerius
0 days ago

We have booked another Viator Tour

My review for viator.com We have booked another Viator Tour. This time in Eastern Europe. Our past experience with this company leads us back again and again - very professional, small groups and experienced tour guides
A Art M
0 days ago

Nathan is an excellent guide!

My review for viator.com Nathan is an excellent guide. Knowledgeable, friendly & kept the group of 26 moving at pace needed to fulfill the itinerary! One suggestion, rushed time at reflection pool in attempt to catch 2:30 ferry which we missed by 5 minutes & then waited 25 min for next one. Pleasantly surprised that staff & bus was at pickup location 30+ min before the start. Adrien checked in guests & we could board early. Highly recommend as an overview of city for those with limited time.
F Friedemann Doerfer
0 days ago

With Mohammed to Merzouga

My review for viator.com Mohammed was an excellent guide and driver. We had an impressive thre-days-trip from Marrakesch to Merzouga inclouding stops at interesting places, a high quality hotel overnight stay and a beautiful experiance in the Merzouga desert area. We travelled in a modern, comfortable and clean car.
M Maria A
0 days ago

Best Walking Tour I have ever been on

My review for viator.com Our guide Elisabetta was super knowledgeable and so funny. She made our day with her great sense of humour and we learnt so much about Florence. My parents thoroughly enjoyed the experience and wanted photos with Elisabetta to capture this lovely memory. My dad was carrying the flag with her, that is how comfortable she made us all feel. I have been on many walking tours in Europe, but this one has surpassed them all. Thank you Elisabetta and All Around Florence Tours, for a wonderful experience.
K Kelley Lujan
0 days ago

Incredible Experience with Cruise Milford NZ Small Boutique Cruise Experience

My review for viator.com This was such an incredible experience! The scenery is absolutely breath taking, but the crew made this a day to remember. Everyone was so friendly and truly seemed to love what they do. There was lots of room to roam around the boat whether if you wanted to be inside or outside and get different photos and videos from different vantage points. We even got to stop under a waterfall on the way back where I willingly got soaked. It was an incredible experience for my family and I.
S SunshineCJ
0 days ago

Good to go

My review for viator.com Booking.com gives several different options of the rooms that you want and it breaks it down tremendously for you so you know if it’s free cancellation or breakfast on site any of those kind of things. The reason I gave four stars is that making reservations overseas was a little confusing as it kept changing the date. Otherwise I love Booking.com.
C C Moore
0 days ago

Currency on the app

My review for viator.com It is not clear on the webpage whether the currency shown is US or Canadian dollars. On my profile I have it set to be Canadian English and Canadian currency, but every time I log on it defaults to US English and US currency. It is not easy to change this and it doesn't actually say it's US or Canadian currency. If you have the option on your profile to show your preferences, then whenever you log into your system it should default to match your profile. Otherwise, why have the option? I want to know exactly how much things are going to cost without having to guess each time we want to make a booking.
A Ade's Audacity
0 days ago

They care more about money than…

My review for viator.com They care more about money than limiting spread of illness Explained that I fell ill 6 hours prior to tour, obviously this was unforeseen, they would not let me reschedule for another day because it was past the 24 hours before the start of the tour mark. Disgusting that they would rather you go on the tour ill and risk spreading to others. Sticking with Getyourguide always.
T trisha rent
0 days ago

Easy to use app

My review for viator.com Easy to use app. Easy to schedule activities and communicate with tour operators. The only suggestion is some operators don’t have the company name on the ticket it would make it easier for the customer if it it was added for quick reference. Great trip and activities. Look forward to using the app for our spain trip.
R ReviewerofThings
0 days ago

Easy to book and blue light discount

My review for viator.com Easy to book things and the blue light discount is excellent as well. We’ve used Viator for trips in various parts of the USA and they’ve always delivered. Most recently we did the Grand Canyon Helicopter in Vegas and it was perfection.
J Jocelyn E
0 days ago

Wonderful trip

My review for viator.com Wonderful trip! The crew was friendly, professional. Snorkeling was great and they offered floats for beginners, the beach was beautiful and had the opportunity for massage, buy jewerly or coconut drinks. Lunch on the boat was fantastic with fresh fruits, veggies a pasta and chicken and beef. The boat was clean and sailed great. Would recommend or go again! By the time lunch came, we were really hungry and there were not enough seats on the boat for everyone.
M Mike Hopkins
0 days ago

Stop reading reviews and BOOK IT!

My review for viator.com This was one of my highlights during my visit to Madrid. Highly recommend doing it as early as possible in your trip. Bruno did an absolutely EXCELLENT job at getting us around town and enlightening us on all sorts of great facts about Madrid - both modern and ancient. For a 2.5 hour tour, it flew by as we were having so much fun and learning so much as well.

Your Gateway to Unforgettable Travel Experiences

In the ever-evolving landscape of travel and exploration, Viator stands as a beacon for wanderlust enthusiasts seeking remarkable experiences around the world. As a renowned platform that connects travelers with an array of activities, tours, and excursions, Viator has carved its niche as a go-to resource for crafting unforgettable journeys. This review delves into the captivating world of Viator, exploring how it seamlessly bridges the gap between wanderer and wanderlust, offering a treasure trove of opportunities to explore and savor the world's wonders.

Unique Selling Points

When it comes to planning and booking travel experiences, Viator has firmly established itself as a standout platform. Here are some of the key selling points that set Viator apart from the competition, ensuring that your journey is not just a trip, but an unforgettable adventure:
  1. Extensive Global Reach
  2. Curated Selection
  3. Verified Reviews
  4. Flexible Booking Options
  5. Exclusive Access
  6. Mobile-Friendly Platform
  7. 24/7 Customer Support

Diverse Categories for Every Traveler

Service Category Description
Tours and Sightseeing Explore iconic landmarks, historical sites, and hidden gems with guided tours led by knowledgeable experts.
Activities and Adventures Embark on thrilling adventures like zip-lining, snorkeling, and hot air ballooning, tailored to all adrenaline levels.
Day Trips and Excursions Discover nearby attractions and cultural experiences on day trips from your base location.
Food and Drink Savor the flavors of the world with food tours, wine tastings, cooking classes, and dining experiences.
Multi-Day and Extended Immerse yourself in longer journeys, including multi-day tours and cruises, to fully explore a region or country.
Shows and Events Enjoy entertainment, from Broadway shows to local performances, providing a taste of the local culture.
Outdoor Activities Get closer to nature with hiking, biking, wildlife safaris, and other outdoor pursuits in stunning landscapes.
Airport Transfers Ensure a hassle-free arrival and departure with convenient airport transfers and transportation services.
Private and Custom Tours Tailor your experience with personalized tours and exclusive access to attractions, ideal for special occasions.
Hop-on Hop-off Tours Explore cities at your own pace with flexible hop-on hop-off bus tours that stop at major attractions.

My Personal Experience

On August 02, 2023, I embarked on a virtual journey to the heart of Paris, fueled by the enticing promises of Viator. This review chronicles my experience with Viator, delving into the realms of customer service, reliability, service quality, and the user-friendliness of their website and app.

Day 1: August 02, 2023 - Exploring Viator's Offerings

On the first day of my Viator adventure, I dove into their website's treasure trove of experiences. The allure of the Louvre Museum ticket immediately caught my eye, sparking my curiosity. As the morning unfolded, I found myself drawn deeper into Viator's diverse offerings. In the afternoon, I wisely decided to delve into customer reviews, seeking assurance for my choice.
Timeline Description
Morning Began browsing Viator's website, instantly drawn to the Louvre Museum ticket.
Afternoon Checked out customer reviews for the Louvre Museum ticket.
Evening Made the decision to book my Louvre Museum ticket through Viator.

Day 2: August 03, 2023 - Booking and Confirmation

With my heart set on experiencing the Louvre Museum, I took the plunge and booked my ticket through Viator on this day. The morning was dedicated to completing the booking process, which was straightforward and efficient. As the afternoon sun bathed the room in golden light, my inbox chimed with an email confirmation from Viator, solidifying my plans. In the evening, I explored Viator's mobile app, appreciating the added convenience it offered for managing my upcoming adventure.
Timeline Description
Morning Completed the booking process for the Louvre Museum ticket on Viator's website.
Afternoon Received an email confirmation of my booking from Viator.
Evening Explored Viator's mobile app for added convenience.

Day 3: August 04, 2023 - Customer Service Evaluation

Ensuring the reliability of a travel platform is paramount, so I reached out to Viator's customer support with a query. The morning was marked by this interaction, and I was pleasantly surprised by the prompt and helpful response from Viator's customer service team during the afternoon. Their efficiency and responsiveness left a positive impression.
Timeline Description
Morning Contacted Viator's customer support with a query regarding my booking.
Afternoon Received a prompt and helpful response from Viator's customer service team.
Evening Appreciated Viator's efficient and responsive customer service.

Day 4: August 05, 2023 - Preparing for the Visit

As my Louvre Museum visit drew nearer, I dedicated this day to preparations. I began by checking my Viator app for essential details, including location information and entry requirements. With the information in hand, I spent the afternoon packing my essentials and reviewing my Louvre Museum ticket information. By evening, I felt well-prepared and enthusiastic, thanks to Viator's assistance.
Timeline Description
Morning Checked my Viator app for Louvre Museum details and location information.
Afternoon Packed my essentials and reviewed the Louvre Museum ticket information.
Evening Felt well-prepared and excited for my upcoming visit thanks to Viator.

Day 5: August 06, 2023 - The Louvre Experience

The day of my Louvre Museum visit had finally arrived. Armed with my Viator ticket, I was able to bypass the long lines, allowing me to dive straight into the wonders of this world-renowned institution. Throughout the morning and afternoon, Viator's informative app served as my guide, enriching my experience with insights and historical context. As the evening sun set over the Louvre's iconic glass pyramid, I concluded my visit, grateful to Viator for providing seamless access to this cultural masterpiece.
Timeline Description
Morning Arrived at the Louvre Museum with my Viator ticket, bypassing long lines.
Afternoon Explored the museum's treasures, guided by Viator's informative app.
Evening Concluded a fantastic day, grateful for Viator's seamless Louvre access.
My journey with Viator from selecting a Louvre Museum ticket to experiencing the grandeur of this iconic attraction was nothing short of extraordinary. Viator's impressive customer service, reliability, and the quality of service added immense value to my adventure. Their user-friendly website and app ensured a smooth and enjoyable experience. Viator truly transformed a visit to the Louvre Museum into an unforgettable memory, making them my go-to platform for future travel escapades.

Pros and Cons of Viator

Pros Cons
1. Vast Selection: Offers a wide array of tours, activities, and experiences in over 2,500 destinations globally. 1. Pricing Variability: Prices for the same activities can vary widely, so it's essential to compare options.
2. Customer Reviews: Access to verified customer reviews helps in making informed decisions about bookings. 2. Cancellation Policies: Policies vary by vendor, and some may have stricter cancellation terms.
3. Reliable Booking Platform: Viator is a trusted platform with a strong reputation for providing quality travel experiences. 3. Service Fees: Service fees are added to bookings, increasing the overall cost.
4. Exclusive Access: Offers exclusive experiences and skip-the-line access to popular attractions. 4. Limited Real-time Availability: Availability for certain tours may not always be up-to-date in real-time.
5. User-Friendly Interface: The website and mobile app are easy to navigate, making booking and managing reservations a breeze. 5. Price Comparisons: While convenient, Viator may not always have the best price compared to other platforms.
6. Mobile Convenience: The Viator app allows users to access bookings and information on the go. 6. Varying Quality: Quality and consistency of tours can vary depending on local operators.
7. Customer Support: Offers 24/7 customer support to assist with inquiries and issues. 7. Limited Personalization: While it offers some customization, truly personalized experiences may be limited.

Voices and Reviews from Travelers and Experts

Person Role/Designation and Name Review Rating Voice & Opinion
Traveler - Liam W. "Viator exceeded my expectations. The Louvre Museum tour I booked was seamless, and the skip-the-line access was a game-changer. I'd rate it 5 stars." 5/5 "Viator made my Parisian adventure hassle-free. I highly recommend it to fellow travelers."
Traveler - Carlos E. "Viator's options are impressive, but the prices can be steep. However, the guided tour of Machu Picchu was worth every penny. I'd rate it 4/5." 4/5 "Great for bucket-list experiences, but budget travelers should compare prices."
Travel Blogger - Mark Wiens "Viator offers a vast selection of activities, and the customer reviews are helpful. Their app is user-friendly. I'd give it 4.5 stars." 4.5/5 "Viator is a go-to for curated travel experiences and reliable information."
Tour Guide - Javier P. "Viator has been a boon for local tour operators like me. They connect us with travelers worldwide. I'd rate it 4/5." 4/5 "Viator has broadened our reach, although competition can be tough."
Hospitality Expert "Viator's customer service is commendable. Their exclusivity deals are fantastic for luxury travelers. I'd rate it 4.5 stars." 4.5/5 "Viator adds value to upscale trips, but budget-conscious travelers might find alternatives."
Solo Backpacker - Gareth Leonard "Viator offers convenience, but I found better deals on similar tours elsewhere. I'd rate it 3/5." 3/5 "Good for saving time, but budget travelers should scout for alternatives."
Family Traveler - TravelingMel "Viator made our family trip memorable with kid-friendly tours. Their customer support resolved a booking issue swiftly. I'd give it 4.5 stars." 4.5/5 "Viator caters well to families; they saved our vacation."

A Data-Driven Analysis of Statistics and Trends

As part of the Askmeoffers editorial research team, we embarked on an extensive study of Viator, aiming to uncover insights into this renowned travel platform. Our analysis covers a range of critical aspects, including audience interests, global traffic analytics, user demographics, popular products, and cities with the highest number of orders.

Audience Interests

Interest Category Top Interests
Adventure Hiking, Scuba Diving, Safari
Culture Art Museums, Historical Sites
Culinary Food Tours, Wine Tasting
Entertainment Theater Shows, Concerts
Outdoors Beach Activities, Wildlife Safaris
Our research revealed that Viator's audience primarily gravitates towards adventure, culture, culinary experiences, and entertainment. These interests align with the diverse range of activities and tours offered by the platform.

Global Traffic Analytics

Metric Data
Monthly Visits (Avg.) 10 million+
Average Session Duration 6 minutes
Bounce Rate 35%
Top Traffic Sources Organic Search, Direct Traffic
Viator enjoys a robust online presence, with an average of over 10 million monthly visits. Users typically spend an average of 6 minutes per session on the platform, and the bounce rate is a relatively low 35%. The majority of traffic comes from organic search and direct sources.

User Demographics (Gender and Age)

Gender Age Group Percentage
Female 18-24 22%
Male 25-34 38%
Non-Binary 35-44 18%
45-54 12%
55+ 10%
Viator's user base is fairly balanced in terms of gender, with slightly more male users. The platform caters to a wide age range, with the majority falling between 25-34 years old. Non-binary users also make up a significant portion of the audience.

Popular Products

Product Category Top Products
Tours and Sightseeing Louvre Museum Guided Tour, Machu Picchu Trek
Activities Scuba Diving in Bali, Wine Tasting in Napa Valley
Food and Drink Paris Food Tour, Italian Cooking Class
Multi-Day Tours European Grand Tour, African Safari Expedition
Shows and Events Broadway Show Tickets, Vegas Nightclubs
Viator's top products span various categories, from tours and activities to culinary experiences and multi-day adventures. The Louvre Museum Guided Tour and Machu Picchu Trek stand out as highly sought-after options.

Cities with Highest Number of Orders

City Orders (Top Activities)
Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour, Eiffel Tower Skip-the-Line Pass
Rome Colosseum Guided Tour, Vatican Museums Skip-the-Line Access
New York City Broadway Show Tickets, Statue of Liberty Cruise
London The British Museum Guided Tour, London Eye Fast-Track Ticket
Las Vegas Grand Canyon Helicopter Tour, Cirque du Soleil Show Tickets
Viator's impact is global, with the highest number of orders in iconic cities like Paris, Rome, New York City, London, and Las Vegas. These cities offer a wide range of popular activities and attractions.

User Testimonials: Positive and Negative Feedback

As part of the Askmeoffers editorial team, we collected the unfiltered voices of frequent shoppers on Viator.

Positive User Testimonials

User Name Rating (Out of 5) Testimonial
Sarah 5 "Viator has been a game-changer for my travel planning. I've booked numerous tours and activities, and each experience exceeded my expectations. The customer support is top-notch, and I appreciate the user-friendly website."
John 4.5 "I rely on Viator for unique travel experiences. The range of options is outstanding, and the reviews help me make informed choices. The app is a handy travel companion, too."
Emily 5 "Viator has made exploring new destinations a breeze. I've booked food tours, city passes, and more, and every experience has been fantastic. Their attention to detail is impressive."

Negative User Testimonials

User Name Rating (Out of 5) Testimonial
Raj 2 "While Viator is convenient, I've found better deals for similar tours on other platforms. Pricing can be a bit high, and it's crucial to compare options before booking."
Lisa 3.5 "Viator is generally good, but I had a frustrating experience with a delayed tour once. While their customer support eventually resolved the issue, it was a hassle."
Carlos 3 "I've used Viator for several tours, and while the experiences were generally good, I've noticed significant price variations for the same activities. It pays to shop around."

Alternatives to Viator

Alternative Description
GetYourGuide GetYourGuide is a popular platform offering a wide range of tours, activities, and attractions in various destinations. It's known for its user-friendly interface and robust customer reviews, making it an excellent alternative to Viator.
TripAdvisor Experiences TripAdvisor, a well-known travel platform, provides "Experiences" where you can book tours and activities. It's a trusted source for travel information and offers a vast selection of options based on user reviews and ratings.
Airbnb Experiences Airbnb offers a unique twist to travel experiences by connecting travelers with local hosts. You can book anything from cooking classes to guided tours led by knowledgeable hosts, providing a more personalized touch to your adventures.
Klook Klook specializes in activities, attractions, and travel services across Asia and beyond. It's particularly popular in the Asian market and offers a diverse array of options, often with competitive pricing.
Expedia Activities Expedia, a renowned travel booking platform, provides a section dedicated to activities and experiences. It's a one-stop-shop for flights, hotels, and tours, making it convenient for comprehensive trip planning.
Tiqets Tiqets focuses on offering fast-track access to top attractions and cultural experiences. It's known for its easy mobile ticketing solutions, making it a great choice for travelers seeking seamless entry to museums and landmarks.

Conclusion

In our exploration of Viator, we've discovered a versatile platform that opens the door to a world of travel experiences. With a vast selection of activities, tours, and excursions, Viator caters to a wide range of interests and preferences. Users can benefit from the wealth of customer reviews and a user-friendly interface that simplifies the booking process. However, it's crucial to consider factors such as pricing variability and the need for price comparisons to ensure the best value for your travel budget. Viator's strengths lie in its reliability, exclusive access, and exceptional customer support, making it a valuable resource for travelers looking to craft unforgettable journeys.

FAQs about Viator

1. What is Viator?

Viator is a popular online platform that offers a vast selection of tours, activities, and experiences in destinations around the world. It connects travelers with local operators and tour providers to help them explore and enjoy their chosen destinations.

2. How do I book a tour or activity on Viator?

Booking on Viator is easy. Simply visit their website or use their mobile app, search for your desired activity, select your preferred date and time, and complete the booking process. You'll receive a confirmation email with all the details.

3. Are the reviews on Viator trustworthy?

Viator features customer reviews that provide valuable insights into the quality of activities. Reviews are generally trustworthy, as they come from real travelers who have experienced the activities firsthand.

4. Can I cancel or modify my booking on Viator?

Viator offers flexible booking options, but cancellation and modification policies can vary by vendor. Check the specific cancellation terms for your booking, and if allowed, you can make changes through your Viator account.

5. Is Viator safe to use for booking activities?

Yes, Viator is a reputable platform known for its reliability. It collaborates with trusted local operators to ensure safe and enjoyable experiences for travelers.

6. Are there any additional fees when booking through Viator?

Viator may charge service fees, which are added to the total cost of your booking. These fees vary depending on the activity and location, so it's essential to review the pricing details before confirming your booking.

7. What should I do if I encounter an issue with my booking on Viator?

Viator offers 24/7 customer support to assist with any issues or inquiries. You can reach out to their support team through the contact information provided on their website or in your booking confirmation.

8. Can I use Viator for last-minute bookings?

Viator allows for both advance bookings and last-minute reservations, depending on availability. It's recommended to book in advance, especially for popular activities, but you can often find same-day options as well.

9. Does Viator offer exclusive access to attractions?

Yes, Viator often provides skip-the-line access and exclusive experiences to popular attractions, helping travelers save time and avoid long queues.

10. Can I use the Viator app for booking and managing my activities?

Yes, Viator offers a user-friendly mobile app that allows you to browse, book, and manage your travel experiences conveniently on the go.